Banana Oatmeal + Cookies

I have a tendency to healthify my baking. And my cooking.

…so I veganize and add nutritional value to most aspects of my life, whatevs. I still spend an hour with nutella, or even a bag of chocolate chips. Am I ashamed? Well, yes, a little bit. But not completely. I’m human: I have weaknesses. They just so happen to come in the contradictory forms of excessive portions and healthy food challenges. Both take place in the kitchen.

For the most part! (I.e. I often take it to the couch…dirty.) And these banana-bread-in-a-cookie wonders are not vegan. They have the potential, but I totally used eggs.

An egg. Neh!

Krisla compared them to gloriously tasty breakfast cookies. All right, I threw in “gloriously tasty”. You get the picture. Oatful, nutful, fruitful, chocolate chip sweetness. Plus flaxseed! Thus: banana oatmeal +

People, this is a big post. It’s the first documented food I produced in my apartment! My cozy, ancient apartment…with a gas oven that sent my smoke alarm into panic mode (repeatedly!). My little apartment that creaks in the night and has me imagining that all the horror movies I’ve ever seen playing out in the rooms around me…! But then it’s the wind (seriously, or the rain) and I eventually doze off. I’d like to keep it that way, Johnny Depp in From Hell.

So these cookies! What a hoot. I don’t know what that means in this context. But it sounds appealing, right? Reaffirming? They’re good.

I improvised a bit – you should, too!

P.S. I also shot some of the workin’ photos in film! I was just delighted. De-lighted.

Banana Oatmeal + Cookies

makes about three dozen small cookies

Adapted from Cookie + Kate

total time involved: roughly 40 minutes

Ingredients:

1 cup whole-wheat (pastry) flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

2 tbsp unsalted butter at room temperature (I used earthbalance baking butter, woo!)

1/2 cup turbinado sugar

1/2 cup unpacked brown sugar

1 large egg (or egg replacer for veganization…word)

1 mashed banana, ideally soft and aged (I added another because it was there, in which case you could afford to lose some sugar for the banana’s natural sweetness)

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups oats, quick or steel-cut/old-fashioned

3/4 cup chocolate chips, give or take some

a few tbsp sliced almonds, flaxseeds and almond butter (each)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. and prepare baking sheet if not nonstick (line with parchment, spray ‘er down, etc.)

2. In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.

3. Cream the butter and sugars in a large bowl. It’s especially crucial that your butter be room temperature if you are using vegan butter like I did. That baby resists! An electric mixer is ideal.

4. Add the egg/egg replacer, mashed banana(s) and vanilla, all sequentially (at separate times).

5. Stir the flour mixture and oats into the butter-sugar combo. with a spoon.

6. Get those chocolate chips, almonds, almond butter and flax seeds in there.

7. Scoop tbsp-size balls onto sheets, baking for 10-12 minutes at a time. Kate warns not to over bake (which I evaded doing, phew).

8. Let ‘em hang out first on the baking sheet, then on a wire rack for three or four minutes.

9. Eat, oh eat ‘n’ eat! Bring to school and work so you don’t succumb to their wafting, lovely smells. Take them home to your brother and his ever-hungry friends. But do eat one or three!

Oh yeah, that cookie’s a pirate.

-Bette Jane

One thought on “Banana Oatmeal + Cookies

  1. Pingback: Blackberry Banana Bread | hungry gnomes

Leave a Reply

