Homemade Fortune Cookies


I had to take an online Biochemistry quiz on Friday when I got home from school. Friday. The quiz is open from 6 am on Friday to 9 am on Saturday. Who’s bright idea was it to have students spend their Friday nights studying enzyme kinetics? Sooo not cool.

So of course, the first thing I did when I got home was start studying… Ha. Yeah, right. I actually just sat on the couch, watched The Ellen Degeneres Show and looked at recipes on the internet. I thought about making fortune cookies pretty much the entire day. And that I did. But I made them fortune-less because I was too lazy to write and think of witty things to say. If I was giving them to someone I definitely would have!

They are a little tricky. But definitely easier than you would think. And even if they don’t turn out looking like the ones from your favorite Chinese restaurant, they will still taste pretty darn fantastic. If you want to attempt perfection, make sure you have your fortune-cookie-folding stance ready. They will burn your pretty fingers and then harden too quickly so you getĀ  misfortune cookies. Heh. Cheesy.

I didn’t spend as much time as I should have studying for my quiz, but least I got to eat delicious fortune cookies while I answered questions about Lactaid and lactose.

Fortune Cookies

Recipe from Kirbie’s Cravings

Yields ~24 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp almond extract
  • 3 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 8 tbsp flour
  • 8 tbsp fine sugar (I thought they were a little too sweet, so next time I’ll only put in 7 tbsp)
  • 1 1/2 tsp corn starch
  • 3 tsp water

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees.
  2. Beat the egg whites, vanilla and almond extract, and vegetable oil together in a medium bowl until frothy.
  3. Sift the flour, fine sugar, and cornstarch together in another small bowl. Then add it the water. (I accidentally added in 3 tablespoons of water. Don’t make the same mistake!!)
  4. Then add in the flour mixture to the egg white mixture and whisk untilĀ  you get a completely smooth batter.
  5. On a greased baking sheet, pour about 1 1/2 tsp of the batter and spread it out so that it forms a nice circle. Try to make it as thin as possible. Unless you like thicker fortune cookies.
  6. Bake for 14-15 minutes until the edges start to brown. Remove from oven.
  7. Here’s the tricky part: folding. Quickly remove each circle from the cookie sheet (careful, they’re hot!). With the bottom of the cookie on the inside, put the written fortune in the middle of the cookie and fold the circle in half. Then using a cup or glass, push the center of the fold over the edge of the glass (shown in the picture above). Place in a muffin tin so that it keeps its shape while cooling. You have to work quickly!! They cool super fast and won’t be very foldable. And then break.

* Tip: Start by baking only 2 or 3 circles at a time until you get the hang of folding or have some extra hands. Also, you can dip these in chocolate and sprinkles and make them all pretty like!


-Krisla

8 thoughts on “Homemade Fortune Cookies

  1. Pingback: How to: Bring in the Chinese New Year! |

  2. Pingback: Chinese New Year: Fortune cookies « So hungry I could blog

  3. Hey Krisla I tried these today and they’re absolutely delish!! Couldnt believe how nice they turned out – i used 7 tbsp sugar. However, my problem is getting it off the baking sheet and I’ve greased the sheet! :( any advice without making the cookie too greasy?

    • Hi Lesley! Thanks for trying the recipe! I would suggest maybe lining the sheet with parchment paper or a Silpat and grease those as well. I didn’t have either at the time but I’m sure they would help. I wonder if they were sticking to the pan because they weren’t cooked for long enough?? When I made them, I had only sprayed the pan with cooking spray once the first time. I hope this helps!!

      Krisla

Leave a Reply

