Multifaceted Pumpkin Cookies

Sure, Halloween is over. Green bean casseroles and mashed potatoes loom in the distance. And I even turn my car radio on to hear Delilah playing Christmas music like every song will save some floundering soul.

Not that I’m complaining! Holidays are totally the cozy, somewhat drunken, classic American times for me. But I’m not done with pumpkin. I mean, I bought it at Costco.

So get ready. I’m bringin’ pumpkin back.

At university (I wish Americans actually said that), I am fortunate enough to have two wonderful jobs: I work at the Art Department’s darkroom/lab as well as (primarily) the Writing Center. Both totes coincide with my interests!

Last week, our WC had a staff potluck; I was so excited to have the opportunity to bake! No halving recipes here, people. And what did I deem necessary in this transition into November-y fallness? What did I have a rather excessive amount of? You know it. Pumpkin.

Woo! This recipe worked greatly to appease a variety of taste buds. Pecans, walnuts, chocolate, powdered sugar, hemp (chea) – whatevs you want! Hence: multifaceted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Spice Cookies

Adapted from Naturally Ella

Follow her recipe for the inclusion of hemp!

Makes about 18 spoon-sized cookies

Total time involved: 40 minuets to an hour

Ingredients:

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 tablespoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon nutmeg

1/2 cup butter, softened

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup natural sugar

1 cup pumpkin puree

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

handful walnuts, pecans (any nuts, really), broken up pieces of baking chocolate

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375˚.
  2. Combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Whisk together and set aside.
  3. In a mixer attached with a paddle, beat butter and sugars together (if you don’t have a mixer, beat by hand- just make sure your butter is soft but not melted). Add in pumpkin and continue to mix until pumpkin, butter, and sugars are combined.
  4. Next, add in egg, vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg. I like a heavier cinnamon taste and if you don’t, you may want to cut back to 2 teaspoons of cinnamon instead. Continue to beat, scrapping sides if need be.
  5. Finally, add in flour mixture and beat until dough comes together and the mixture is incorporated. Do not over-beat, you should only need less than a minute.
  6. Cover a baking tray with a piece of parchment paper. Using a cookie scoop (or a regular spoon) scoop cookies and place two inches apart from each other. Add nuts or chocolate (I used just one per cookie) by carefully placing them on top of dough balls.
  7. Bake for 15-20 minutes (for large cookies) or until cookie springs back slightly (as if baking a cupcake.) Remove from oven, let cool for five minutes then transfer to a rack to finish cooling.
  8. Bring to potlucks! Or your couch with some eggnog, if you’re into eggnog. I’m into eggnog. Soy is pretty good!
-Bette Jane
P.S. …I know the nuts look kind of dirty. Not intended!
Heh.
2 thoughts on “Multifaceted Pumpkin Cookies

Leave a Reply

