Coconut Cashew Cream Tart with Strawberries


We’ve got a good-news, bad-news situation here.

Bad news: this is our first post of May, which means we are slackin’ food bloggers that’ve been eating their creations instead of sharing them (incidentally, our food-sharing might be more fulfilling to we, the bloggers, than to ye, the blog readers…but that is beside the point).

Good news: this is one g.d. tasty tart, and it is completely worth our worthlessness. I hope.

I love this tart. It is so rich, yet so simple. There are even nutritious benefits! This is a dessert, people! Ahhh yes. That is just the sort of food magic I live for.

You’ll notice shortly that this is not the average tart. If you have not done so already, that is…you wizards.

That’s right, it’s vegan. Lent is far behind me, word, but I still eat and bake in a whole-foods, mostly-plants sort of fashion.

I love cheese. I really, really do. And greek yogurt is fabulous. The way I see it, if you eat what is good for your body, the earth, and the business of honest farmers, then you’re doin’ good. Just don’t get S.A.D.!

Now, in my vegan days (40, to be exact), I came across many situations that made cashews a star. Soaked, creamed, pureed and even subbed for cheese! I won’t say that cashew cheese ain’t for me (I’ll probably post about and glorify it later), but the nut just wasn’t a staple of mine. That is, until I found this recipe, this typically-vegan-and-wonderfully-so recipe.

I gave in. I bought cashews in the bulk section (ran me about $1.86…I know, pretty steep). I soaked them, despite the sounds of mockery echoing around me (“…and milk shouldn’t be made from almonds!”). I blended these littles nutty nuggets with coconut goodness, vanilla, milk and agave.

And all that made this! Not the kitten. That’s Nelson.

Isn’t he handsome?! (Nelson, too. And don’t worry, no one knew I took pictures of them on the floor.)

Coconut Cashew Cream Tart with Strawberries

total time involved: about 1 hour at most

makes one 9 inch tart (though you could make wee tartlets instead!)

recipe adapted from: Opera Singer in the Kitchen

Ingredients

Crust

  • 2/3 cup raw almonds
  • 10-12 Medjool dates, pitted

Cream Filling

  • 1/2 cup raw cashews, soaked for at least 6 hours prior to tart time
  • 1 cup shredded coconut (I used previous coconut butter, or pureed shredded coconut)
  • 4-6 tbsps coconut milk, vanilla or otherwise (I used almond, twas on hand)
  • 2 tablespoons melted extra-virgin coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp vanilla bean paste, or 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup agave or maple syrup

Directions

  1. As mentioned in the ingredients, soak yer cashews for at least 6 hours (water covering the nuts). I just did an all-nighter.
  2. Upon tart time (or after cashew soaking), prepare the crust in a food processor. Process the almonds and dates until the mixture resembles wet sand (no soaking needed for dates ‘n’ almonds).
  3. Evenly spread the crust on your tart pan, or divide it between two 4 1/4 inch tartlets, all with removable bottoms. Press the mixture making sure it is even in the edges as well; refrigerate until coconut cashew cream is prepared.
  4. After the cashews and coconut has soaked, drain the liquid and place the nuts into a Vitamix or other high-powered blender.
  5. Add the milk, and the rest of the filling ingredients. Blend until mixture is nice and smooth. Smooth and right nice.
  6. Opera in the Kitchen suggests to add 1/2 cup of cream to each tartlet pan, and to reserve the rest for fruit dipping on another (though soon) occasion. I ended up using all of the cream in my 9-incher…bahaha.
  7. Chill the tart for at least an hour. After such time, decorate with sliced fruit such as strawberries, or top with blackberries, blueberries, pineapple, mango! You get the picture.
  8. YAY!

-Bette Jane

7 thoughts on “Coconut Cashew Cream Tart with Strawberries

  1. Hi! Allison here from Three Branches Healthy Living. I noticed that you linked to our site, specifically the article on the S.A.D Diet. I’m so glad! We’ve changed a few things around which may have broken the link. Anyway, if you still would like your readers to see that article, the link is now: http://www.threebrancheshealth.com/learn/the-standard-american-diet-is-sad/

    I LOVE your blog, your recipes, the way you two write…fabulous! My best friend and I are the two behind our site so I can totally relate. Happy reading/writing! :)

  2. Pingback: The Daily Find – Coconut Cashew Cream Tart with Strawberries | GottaGetAgave

  3. Pingback: The Vegan Diaries - The Final Countdown - The Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans LLC

  4. Pingback: Vegan Diaries – The Final Countdown | The Art of Burning Water

Leave a Reply

