Candied Pecans

I’m sorry. I’ve neglected you.

Baking was put on the back burner. I’ve been… busy and exhausted. My motivation to do anything went down the drain approximately 23 seconds after I took my MCAT exam. And I had a bunch of other crap to get done. But! My life has momentarily slowed down a little bit. I’m ready for ya, Hungry Gnomes readers.

I know what you’re thinking, “Excuses, excuses!” Which is why I’m making it up to you in the form of nuts. Yes. But these are special nuts. Candied nuts. “Pee-cans” to be exact. And they remind me of Christmas time. I know it’s a completely different holiday this weekend (Memorial Day), but who doesn’t like Christmas in May?! I’ll answer that. Nobody. Everyone loves Christmas in May. Okay, I don’t know that for sure, but it doesn’t matter.

These nuts are sweet and salty… in other words, delicious. And they would actually be great in a salad. I’m thinking a sweet summer salad… baby spinach leaves + raspberry vinaigrette + sliced strawberries + candied pecans + a little bit of crumbled feta. Mhmm.

This recipe is SIMPLE.

Simplicity is good. It’s easy to overlook– excuse the cliche– “the simple things in life” when our lives just get so complicated. To-do lists are never ending and we are always switching from one thing to the next, constantly distracting our minds from what’s right in front of us. But during our busiest days, there are always little things we come across that remind us of how awesome life is! Like seeing a hawk perched on top of a rock on the side of a busy road watching cars pass by (No joke, Bette Jane and I witnessed this last weekend). Or the sun momentarily peeping through during a cloudy day.

Simple is good:)

Candied Pecans

Recipe slightly adapted from Wit and Whistle

Total Prep Time: 1 hr, 15 min

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg white
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 pound of pecans (or other kinds of nuts)
  • 1/2 cup of white sugar
  • 1/4 cup of brown sugar
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 250 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together the egg white, water, and vanilla extract.
  3. Toss in the pecans until they are completely covered.
  4. In a smaller bowl, stir together the sugars, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt.
  5. Slowly add the sugar mixture to the pecans and mix until they are completely and evenly coated.
  6. Pour in a parchment paper lined 9×13 inch pan and roast for 1 hr, stirring every 15 minutes.
  7. Allow the pecans to cool before serving. Store in an airtight container.

Enjoy!

-Krisla

3 thoughts on “Candied Pecans

  1. Pingback: Strawberry Summer Salad with Honey Lime Vinaigrette | hungry gnomes

Leave a Reply

