Oreo Almond Butter Cookies

I had a half-eaten pack of Oreos. No butter. A serious craving for cookies. But I was cookie-less. And I couldn’t find a cookie recipe using Oreos and no butter. I was missing a LOT of things. (Mainly cookies and butter.)

So what do you do when you’re missing a lot of things? You work with what you’ve got and make something amazing out of it. Yup, you can apply that to your life, too. That’s right. Free life advice!

What I had to work with in this case was almond butter. I bought this for my vegan week, but ended up eating it with toast only twice. Or something like that. In any case, I had a lot of it left sitting in my fridge waiting to feel some baking love.

And boy was it loved. Bette Jane and I had made these Vegan Chocolate Almond Butter cookies during our vegan challenge and they turned out ah-mazing. But, I didn’t have flaxmeal so I replaced that with an egg. I tend to un-veganize things. Bette Jane tends to veganize things. You may see a trend.

After dabbling with a recipe, I created these butter-less, un-veganized, Oreo-ed, almond butter cookies. What a mouthful. A mouthful of cookies that is;)

Just embrace my cheesiness.

Oreo Almond Butter Cookies

Makes about 20 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp cocoa powder
  • 3/4 cup of natural creamy almond butter
  • 1/2 cup of brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp canola oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 10-12 Oreos, crushed

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, and cocoa powder.
  3. With a hand mixer, cream together the almond butter and brown sugar until well combined. Then beat in the egg, oil, and vanilla into the almond butter/sugar mixture.
  4. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and beat until combined. The dough will be slightly crumbly, but don’t worry about that.
  5. Fold in the crushed pieces of Oreos. I just crumbled the cookies up with my hands. I like big chunks of it throughout my cookies.
  6. Scoop about 2-teaspoon of the dough and form two-inch disks. If the dough isn’t staying together well enough, add a splash of canola oil. The dough won’t really spread much. It actually won’t really change that much shape in general.
  7. Place on an ungreased baking sheet and bake for 9-11 minutes until edges start to brown.
  8. Eat with some milk and share with family and friends.

-Krisla

One thought on “Oreo Almond Butter Cookies

Leave a Reply

