Educational Blackberry Peach Galette

I, Bette Jane, am Krislaless. She is off to California for something about ‘Ellen Degeneres’ and ‘boyfriend’. Whatevs. So, at a loss, I threw myself into a baking mess. This became the biggest journey my kitchen and I have been through. But that is totally unavoidable, so do not flee! There was just a great need for me to make mistakes and get fruit filling all over myself. Apparently.

Nobody should be without a Krisla.

P.S. It’s super end-of-summer tasty and even better when you’ve learned something!

From James and the Giant Peach-esque peaches to dry-ass dough, this galette was an adventure. As previously mentioned, this does not have to be the case. Take the source-blog of the recipe, Cookie and Kate. She mastered this baby with finesse. Me? I still slip a little on the flour and remade the dough.

Education is invaluable, people.

Blackberry Peach Galette

Adapted from Cookie and Kate

Total time involved: roughly 2 hours

makes one galette…hopefully

Filling

5 small/regular sized peaches (however, I ultimately used 4 James and the Giant Peach peaches which made for twice the amount of filling necessary)

6 oz. blackberries (I dumped in a whopping 12 oz. and then picked “half” out. What’s wrong with me?!)

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 tbsp butter in small pieces

1 tbsp honey or agave syrup

1 tbsp raw turbinado sugar

Crust

1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 tsp salt

8 tbsp cold butter, cubed (unsalted is what’s recommended, salted is what I had)

4-7 tbsp ice water

turbinado sugar for dusting, in the amount that floats your boat

1. The crust is the first priority, as it must chill out for an hour before baking. So! Whisk the flour and salt together in a large bowl.

2. Cube your butter and plop them in; you can cut them in with a butter knife then tag-team it with your hands. The mixture should end up with coarse yet small buttery bits.

3. Add four tablespoons of ice water to the dough and mix together. If it’s dry and doesn’t remain together as you work it, add one more tablespoon of water at a time until it does. In Trial 1, I needed about…eight tablespoons, but that is because I foolishly doubled the recipe into one giant blob of galette dough. Mistake. Do not do that. In Trial 2, I needed about six. Progress. But in Trial 3, four was all I needed and it was just swell (I was making a pizza galette this time). So! Aim for four. It’s a good sign if four tablespoons is enough water to make the dough doughy.

4. Ahem. Get yer dough into a disk and wrap in plastic wrap to chill in the fridge for an hour. Cold butter makes for flaky crust! Patience always pays off. Krisla and I try to remember that.

5. During this chill time, combine all of your filling ingredients into a bowl. Now, I did not peel my peaches. Potato skins, bread ends, fruit peels – I love food’s tougher exterior! My dad (and I’m sure most people) does not. So peel your peaches if that makes for a more palatable galette. It probably does. I’m just a weirdo.

6. Toward the end of the hour, preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Prepare a baking sheet or jelly roll pan (line with parchment paper or give a little nonstick cooking spray).

7.  Flour a cutting board or work surface for your disk of dough. Roll it out with a rolling pin as far as you can without creating holes or hole-prone thinness; a 12 inch round. Then, carefully, move it onto the pan.

8. Using your hands, transfer the filling to the center of the round. If you can, arrange the berries and peaches in a pretty way. I couldn’t, but I think my peaches were too juicy. My filling was twice as much as I needed. Yay learning!

9. Fold over the dough so as to make a fancy-free crust, though you can be fancy if you want by pleating.

10. Pastry brush or touch water onto the crust, then sprinkle raw sugar all over the galette.

11. Bake 35 to 45 minutes until crust is lightly golden and decently hard. My time was closer to 35 but I can anticipate very few things in this recipe. Allow to cool! Then dig in.

-Bette Jane

One thought on “Educational Blackberry Peach Galette

Leave a Reply

