Vegan Chocolate Pudding

Fried chicken, cheesy dishes, rich pies: these foods tend to conjure up the sentiment of “comfort food”. It’s an excellent name, really. When you’ve schlepped through long work days (or, you know, lazy afternoons spent rolling around on your living room floor…just me?), you tend to crave companionship in the form of hefty fare.

But edible comforts, just like any, can totally be expanded! I know mine have. One day my heart was warmed by a bowl of macaroni and cheese, the next I’m melting with every bite of equally delicious and nutritious food. For real!

Enter, vegan chocolate pudding!

Avocado, banana, I would like to introduce you to almond butter and chocolate.

What’s that? You’ve already met? You made pudding? It must be love!

Oh. Oh, my. No, I’m not uncomfortable, just…TMI, guys. TMI.

Home is where the heart is. Most people have heard that, right? It sounds like a country song…is it? I think so. I also think one of my biggest growing-up-surprises is how true our corny clichés can be.

I just moved “home”. My first town, my first love. The ol’ parents, individually, are moving as well. These changes awaken a dormant fire in me, a spark that’s been stifled by words like “should” and “plan” and “identity” and “falafel”.

That last one’s not true, but what a fantastic word!

It took me a while, but I finally admitted that my heart was not where I was studying. No, sir. I gave it the ol’ college try, too (pun!). Although it’s been one of my most difficult decisions, and although I did have good times, good grades and good jobs, I am now…freed. Freed! I can live for greatness, not just goodness. It turns out that in acknowledging my unhappiness, I’ve discovered what actually composes my happiness. And how to pursue it! And, at the risk of sounding corny, where my heart is.

Let’s be real: corny is always where the heart is.

You know what else is? For this heart, anyway? Pudding. Chocolate, rice, tapioca;  man, am I a puddin’ person. Just as my personal comforts are evolving, so, too, are my culinary ones! It’s true. Mac-n-cheese can still get me hot and heavy, but I’m thrilled by a more multi-dimensional indulgence like vegan pudding.

That is my comfort food (among many others).

Vegan Chocolate Pudding

total time involved: 10 minutes prep and 1 hour (patience permitting) chill time

makes 2 large (ish) servings

Ingredients:

  • scant 1/3 cup almond milk (the kind, i.e. vanilla, according to your sweetness preference)
  • 4-5 tbsp agave nectar
  • 3-4 tbsp cocoa powder or chocolate (vegan)
  • about 3/4 banana (I suggest starting with 1/2 and slicing in more as the texture needs it)
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1-2 tbsp almond butter, when things are lookin’ a little thin
  • dash vanilla

Directions:

  1. Mix almond butter, milk, banana and avocado together in a blender or food processor for a good minute or so. This sets the thickness tone, so watch your milk! I had too thin and too thick among my trials.
  2. Add the cocoa powder until it reaches your desired chocolatey-ness. If the powder isn’t your thing, you can always melt unsweetened chocolate/chips and roll that way.
  3. Be the most liberal with agave. It really makes this pudding a dessert!
  4. Get in the vaniller.
  5. Chill in the fridge for about an hour.
  6. Top with coconut, vegan whip, powdered sugar or whatever comforts you!

-Bette Jane

5 thoughts on “Vegan Chocolate Pudding

  1. Pingback: Super Vegan Green Hemp Smoothie! | hungry gnomes

Leave a Reply

