Baked Oatmeal and Parkinson’s

Oh, oats. I love all kinds of grains, but holy smokes do I enjoy oats! Krisla doesn’t get it. She’s all, “Oats? What?”, and I’m all, “Oats! Yeah!”

That about sums up our feelings on the matter.

But I bet even she’d love this baked oatmeal!

Cell phone camera action. Do you see that sad-looking banana slice? Poor guy. Tasted great, though.

My dad loves oats, too. He may not have a catch-phrase (I’ll check), but darnit if he doesn’t happily scoot up to a bowl of oatmeal every morning.

Among the many health benefits of oats is fiber! Digestive aids like fiber are imperative in the diet of a Parkinson’s patient like my dad, who struggles with eating right (and enough) each day. One way I can help him live his life as fully as possible is by understanding his nutritional needs. I totally benefit from it! He’s a reason to learn how to make healthy food without sacrificing any taste (I come from a family of picky eaters). Baked oatmeal, friend, satisfies all of the above!

Picture source

Oats are up there on the list of the recommended foods for Parkinson’s patients. You know what else is? Coconut oil! There’s been recent research conducted on the effect of ketones (found in pure non-hydrogenated coconut oil) and people with Alzheimer’s. The studies have also been extended to various conditions like Parkinson’s, dimentia, autism and schizophrenia. For much more elaborate information on this, check out this short “documentary” based on Dr. Mary Newport’s findings of coconut oil and how it has deterred the symptoms of her husband’s Alzheimer’s disease!

http://www.cbn.com/cbnnews/healthscience/2012/January/Coconut-Oil-Touted-as-Alzheimers-Remedy/

Just like I could ramble on about Parkinson’s, I would love to write pages and pages on the source(s) of this recipe. I’m in love. Green Kitchen Stories’ baked oatmeal was the perfect excuse to finally make one of their recipes! I resisted devoting this post just to the Swedish family of vegetarian genius, but I can’t say it won’t happen in the future.

Oats, coconut oil, love- it’s all there and ready to go.

Baked Blueberry and Banana Oatmeal

total time: about 45 minutes-1 hour

makes one 10×8 inch or 9 inch round pan of baked oatmeal

adapted from: Green Kitchen Stories/So Good & Tasty, Cookie and Kate

Ingredients*:

1/2 ripe banana (although I didn’t totally cover my dish so a whole banana is coo, too)

1/2 cup blueberries (or whatever berry/fruit you wish to use!)

2 cups rolled oats

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground ginger

1/4 tsp ground cloves

2 cups almond milk (I used unsweetened vanilla)

1/4 cup maple syrup (I exchanged with agave)

1 egg (I opted for a flax “egg”: 1 tbsp flax meal mixed with 3 tbsp water)

1 tsp vanilla

pinch fine sea salt

1 tbsp coconut oil melted, plus more for greasing pan

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 cup chopped walnuts, toasted (although I did not toast them…slightly out of laziness)

I also omitted the following that are included in So Good & Tasty’s version:

1/4 cup pepitas (hulled pumpkin seeds), toasted

1/4 cup hazelnuts, toasted

*The great thing about baked oatmeal is that you can pretty much add, ignore and mess with whatever you want in making it!

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 375˚F. Grease the bottom of a 10×8-inch baking dish with the coconut oil, set aside.

2. Place the rolled oats, nuts, baking powder, spices, and salt in a medium mixing bowl.

3. In a separate bowl beat the egg (or “egg”, or omit if you wish). Add to it the almond milk, syrup and vanilla. Stir well to combine.

4. Spread the sliced banana into an even layer in the baking dish, dotting berries in between and/or on the slices.

5. Pour the oat mixture to cover the fruit, then slowly pour the wet ingredients over the oats so everything is evenly soaked.

6. Drizzle the melted coconut oil over the top and bake for 30-35 minutes. When it’s done the oatmeal should be set and lightly browned on top and your kitchen smells like cinnamon (YUMS). Let cool slightly before serving.

7. Definitely consider a piping bowl of this stuff with some almond milk. Ahhh yeah.

-Bette Jane

P.S. If you’ve noticed an M.I.A. Krisla, fret not! She’ll return with a post on fats (woo science!) as soon as she gets a break from MCATs, homework, Mike Time…she should be back.


4 thoughts on “Baked Oatmeal and Parkinson’s

  1. Your baked oatmeal looks wonderful, and I’m glad you can enjoy it with your dad. I have been on a serious coconut oil kick lately. It is even great swirled into a regular bowl of oats or steel cut oats! Top with defrosted raspberries, pineapple or coconut flakes and it turns into a tropical treat!

  2. Thank you! I have to say I immediately pulled up the picture of your baked oatmeal when mine came out of the oven, to make sure I didn’t somehow miss something (on the surface). Fortunately, the recipes were too brilliant for that! And I will definitely be using those coconut oil recommendations, because ma goodness do they sound tasty. Especially with pineapple and swirled into steel cut oats…ahhhhh.

Leave a Reply

