Shrimp & Pesto Pizza

I found out today that I do my best thinking when I’m driving by myself. It’s my spring break. And like a fool, I decided to work in research lab so I’ve been driving down to Seattle a lot this week. I’ve had some revelations, I tell ya.

Instance #1: Planes are freaking cool. They are these heavy chunks of metal flying in the sky that take us places. Humans aren’t supposed to fly. That’s why we don’t have wings. But we found a way to do it anyways. The human mind is a marvelous thing.

Instance #2: I planned out what I want to say in my personal statement for med school. Shoot… I better write this down before I forget it.

Instance #3: Shrimp and pesto taste pretty darn good together… also pesto and pizza… SHRIMP AND PESTO PIZZA.

These are the types of things that go on in my head as I drive (when I’m not rocking out to the radio, of course). I guess they aren’t really revelations per se, but they are great ideas. And I’d have to say I’m glad I thought of Instance #3 because this pizza is the best thing I’ve ever cooked that didn’t have tons of sugar in it.

Beautiful veggies. Apparently, we have a gazillion bags of frozen uncooked shrimp in the freezer. My mom likes to keep a nice stock.

I really don’t have anything else to say in this post. I just REALLY wanted to share this recipe with you folks. Seriously. It’s bomb.com as our dear friend AnnaLea would say.

Shrimp and Pesto Pizza

Makes about a 13×18 inch pizza in a baking sheet

Pizza dough recipe from shutterbean

Ingredients for the dough (recipe makes enough dough for 2 thin crust pizzas):

  • 3 1/2 cups of flour
  • 1 1/3 cups of warm water
  • 1 package of dry active yeast (or 1 1/4 tsp)
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • olive oil
  • sprinkle of yellow cornmeal (optional)

Toppings: (The amounts are flexible, of course. Do what you please!)

  • 3-4 tbsp of basil pesto
  • half of a yellow onion, sliced
  • 2 roma tomatoes; sliced
  • ~20-25 uncooked shrimp, peeled and de-veined
  • 6-7 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 cups of shredded mozzarella
  • salt and fresh ground pepper to taste
  • olive oil

Directions:

  1. Combine the water, sugar, and yeast in a big bowl and swirl it around. Let it sit for a few minutes so the yeast can proof. Then dump in the flour and mix with your hands. Or a spatula/wooden spoon if you’re into that. The dough should be moist ish. Then, cover and let it sit in a warm place for 2 hours to rise. (I only had time for 1 hour rise, which worked out perfectly fine.) If you don’t have a warm place, place it in your oven with the oven light on. The light usually generates enough heat for some good ol’ risin’.
  2. When that is done rising, cut the dough in half. I stored one half in the freezer for later use. Then, wrap the cut-in-half dough in a moistened towel and place in a warm spot and let it sit for 30 min.
  3. While that is going on, prepare your toppings!
  4. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.
  5. Slice up the onion and tomatoes.
  6. In a medium skillet, heat some olive oil on medium-high heat. Throw in the shrimp (not literally) and season with salt and pepper (generously with the pepper because it’s delicious) and cook for about 1 min on each side. You don’t want to cook it all the way because it’ll finish cooking in the oven. Remove from heat and set aside.
  7. Time to assemble. In a baking sheet, add olive oil to the pan and sprinkle the cornmeal over it. Then take your dough and stretch it out so that it almost fits the pan. Don’t worry if it tears, just patch it up. It’ll rip and it’ll be lumpy and uneven. But it will turn out deliciously thin and crispy.
  8. Add an even layer of basil pesto on top of the dough. Then the garlic, onions, and cheese. Then the slices of tomatoes and shrimp. And top with some more ground black pepper.
  9. Bake for about 18-20 minutes until your crust starts to be golden brown and the cheese is all melty and gooey. YUMMMM.

Look it’s finally sunny in Washington! Enjoy!

-Krisla

4 thoughts on “Shrimp & Pesto Pizza

    • Thanks, friend! You can always replace it with chicken… I know how you love chicken;) That sounded creepy I’m sorry.

Leave a Reply

