Salted Caramel Sauce

image

I’m back from hiatus y’all! I know, I haven’t been consistent with posts, but now that I’m no longer in school (Class of 2013, woot woot!), I can hopefully make this blogging a regular thing again. I’ve missed it.

Tomorrow, I’m making a chocolate salted caramel nutella cake for my little sister’s birthday. I’ve never made a fancy cake before so I’m STOKED. Until then, I’ll just tease you guys with a recipe for salted caramel sauce that I’ll be using for the cake. It’s much easier than you think! Only a few ingredients, constant stirring, and you have sweet and salty deliciousness.

Excuse the iPhone photos, heh.

Salted Caramel Sauce

Recipe from Sunny Side Up

Yield: 1 cup of sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of white sugar
  • 6 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 cup of heavy cream
  • 1 tsp of sea salt, divided

Directions:

  1. In a thick-bottomed pan, heat 1 cup of white sugar on medium heat. Do not stir.
  2. When the edges of the sugar starts to melt, whirl the sugar (still not stirring), to redistribute the sugar. Repeat until most of the sugar has melted. This method prevents the sugar from burning and clumping up for even melting.
  3. When most of the sugar has melted, stir with a wooden spoon until the sugar is a deep amber color and take off heat.
  4. Immediately stir in the butter. It will foam up, don’t be alarmed. Stir until the butter is completely melted.
  5. Add in the cream, whisking continuously. At this step, my caramel seized up into a big ball. But keep whisking and put back on low heat until you have a smooth sauce.
  6. Add in 1/2 tsp of sea salt and stir to mix. Let the sauce cool and add more sea salt. Make sure you taste-test the sauce (but careful, don’t burn yourself) for saltiness.
  7. Top on ice cream, stir into coffee, or use on a cake! This sauce can be kept in the fridge for up to two weeks in an air-tight container.

image-1_2

image-4

image-1

image-5

image

-Krisla

Leave a Reply

