Peach Upside-Down Cake

Image

Oh, July. You were my busiest, most gratifying month yet. Let’s recap:

By day, I dominated a park, leading and teaching a group of young kids at a summer day camp. By night, I played student taking an MCAT prep course and a hospice volunteer training class. On weekends, I caught up with mis amigos, diddle-daddling through the streets of Seattle. Oh, July.

I have to admit, even though it was possible for me squeeze in baking on the weekends, I chose to watch marathons of Breaking Bad on Netflix. Even when I did decide to concoct a recipe for birthday cake ice cream with birthday cake Oreos, I still chose to post a photo on Instagram and then gobble it all up before writing a proper blog post to share. Oooopppps.

Image

But now, I present to you: Peach Upside-Down Cake. I’ve made two of these cakes within a week because it was a hit with my family. My ten-year-old cousin ended up eating about a third of one, guiltlessly. This cake is simple, beautiful in presentation, and should have been served up with a dollop of whipped cream or ice cream. Which I (mistakenly) didn’t have on hand.

Image

Peach Upside-Down Cake

One 9-in cake, recipe adapted from My Kitchen Snippets

Ingredients:

  • 3 medium peaches, sliced
  • 3 tbsp brown sugar
  • 4 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  • 8 tbsp unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs, room temp
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 5 tbsp of milk

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven of 350 degrees F. Line a 9-in cake pan with parchment paper and grease.
  2. Mix the 4 tbsp of melted butter with the brown sugar and pour into the bottom of the cake pan.
  3. Arrange the peach slices on the bottom of the pan so that they overlap slightly.
  4. In a medium bowl, beat the softened butter and sugar until creamy. Then, beat in one egg at a time. Add the vanilla.
  5. Sift together the flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Slowly add flour mixture, alternating with a tbsp of milk. Mix until just combined.
  6. Spread the batter over the top of the peaches. Bake for ~35-40 min, or until golden brown.
  7. Let the cake cool for about 10 min before inverting onto a serving plate.

Image-Krisla

2 thoughts on “Peach Upside-Down Cake

  1. Delicious! Everyone including my husband who doesn’t really like cakes loved it. Goes great with vanilla ice cream. Thanks for posting the recipe. I’ll be making it again. Probably very soon. Lol

Leave a Reply

