Ginger Cookies with Lemon

023_23

Long lost world of blog: I beseech you!

Anyway, I made some snappy cookies. There it is.

013_13

To be teeming with youth and social transitions into adulthood is to be pert-near (so that is spellable! but spellable isn’t — lose some, eh?) despaired. Indeed, these transitions have resembled bitter-cold, morning-air face-slaps: the webbing of global capitalism, a rainbow of surreal shades of discrimination…

…the nuanced marginalization. In other words, those who are painfully close to the surface of every day but cannot reach above the water, not close enough to air…the impaired, the non-white, the woman, the non-gendered, the non-western, the non-heterosexual, the supplied identity. What challenges both the privileged and the oppressed, those above and below water, is accessing each other. It seems embedded in so many facets of social life to look away, to worry about yourself and production — if I can effectively use that word.

“My movement told me be a consumer and I consumed it”.

015_15

It hurts, to be honest. Just typing those words. To resume my metaphor: looking into the water below me, the steady stream of (social) privilege I walk on, is fantastically difficult. Because it goes against my conditioned flow. Because this is a food blog! And, socially, I’m young, and I’m white. Because it’s uncomfortable to read about, to talk about, to think about — if you haven’t had to.

004_4

Yet, if there is one thing that I will continue to capitalize on, it is my voice — if only to be stared at.

Yesh, this is a food blog, I’m young, white; it’s uncomfortable. But I’m a daughter of a man with young onset Parkinson’s disease. I’m categorically a woman (perhaps girl). There is water above and below me; I am socialized, I am assessed.

And I think I am beginning to realize what that means in a historical as well as a socio-political-economic sense. To see in new and old light, through new and old glass…

010_10

I’m finally beginning to recognize that difference is complexly un(der)valued, to learn through the contexts of formation, foundation and fabrication. To look at another day of premature congratulations, wherein civil rights seem a distant drought.

019_19

Perusers came here for ginger cookies, and I will so happily give them! The aforementioned is undoubtedly a stretched connection. Heh. Hungry Gnomes and vague, remedial advocacy. If you will.

Thinking, wondering, creating: these are the passionate abstractions of my efforts, of baking and writing and photo-taking. I hope that the heaviness is invigorating: the ginger-and-lemon of thought, of change.

011_11

Ginger and Lemon Cookies

makes pert-near 24 cookies

adapted from: food.com, M&RL

total time involved: depends on your patience with sticky-ass dough, 40 ish minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4-1/3 cups flour (this may depend upon how much lemon, liquids go down)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon ground ginger
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon fresh ginger, finely chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1 lemon, grated and squeezed to taste preference
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup molasses (if desired)
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup sugar (I whipped out the agave and used 2/3 cup, if not less)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 4 tablespoons raw turbinado sugar for sprinkling (excellent textural dynamic)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. Sift dry ingredients (except sugar) into a medium bowl and settle aside.
  3. Zest lemon and chop ginger in a fine way.
  4. In a large(r) bowl, combine wet ingredients (including sugar/agave, lemon zest and juice, ginger) and whisk or beat on medium until blended.
  5. Stir in the pre-sifted dry ingredients and mix until well-combined.
  6. The dough will be quite quite quite sticky and you may need to dampen your hands to work with it.
  7. Roll the dough into little balls (about 1 Tablespoon) and flatten out to your liking.
  8. The thinner the cookie the crisper it will be–a slightly thicker cookie will yield a crunch on the edges and a slightly chewy interior.
  9. Press the coarse sugar onto the tops of the cookies and bake about 10 minutes on a greased cookie sheet.
  10. Enjoy with tea. Happy mid-winter; here’s to spring and revelations, ginger and lemon!

025_25

-Bette Jane

10 thoughts on “Ginger Cookies with Lemon

  1. What a wonderful post ! I.am totally captivated the way you have played with the words & of course the recipe. thank you !

Leave a Reply

