Coconut Candied Ginger Ice Cream

DSC_4598

HUZZAH!!  ICE CREAM!!

That’s what typically goes through my head whenever ice cream is within a mile radius.

I concocted this coconut ice cream with candied ginger pieces with the intent to make ice cream floats using ginger beer. Have you guys had ginger beer? It’s amazing. I had it for the first time on my flight to Australia last year and it’s my new favorite carbonated drink. Ginger ale used to be my favorite, but now my taste buds find it too tame and lackluster in comparison. (Once you go ginger beer, you never go back, right?)

Anyways, I tried this ice cream float idea with Reed’s Ginger Brew and… it was disappointing. Reed’s has a citrusy undertone that just didn’t go well with the coconut flavor. Culinary experiment fail. I still think the ginger beer floats is a good idea. I just need to find the right kind of beer.

But not to worry, this ice cream is delicious as is. It’s creamy, easy to make, and has chewy, spicy bites of ginger. And it goes very well with these chocolate dipped cones :)

DSC_4582

 

Coconut Candied Ginger Ice Cream

Makes about 1 quart of ice cream

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (14 oz) coconut cream
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 cup milk ( I used 2%)
  • 1/2 cup of granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup of candied ginger, diced into very small pieces ( I used the uncrystallized one from Trader Joe’s)

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl,  whisk the coconut cream, heavy cream, milk, sugar, and vanilla extract in a bowl.
  2. Chill the mixture for a couple hours, this will make it easier to freeze in the ice cream maker.
  3. Pour the mix into your ice cream maker as instructed.
  4. When the ice cream is almost done, mix in the candied ginger.
  5. Freeze for at least 6 hours, as needed.
  6. For the ice cream cones: Melt a little coconut oil and chocolate chips together, dip, and coat in some toasted coconut flakes.

-Krisla

Leave a Reply

