Chicken Noodle Soup

FullSizeRender

I’m back! Well, I don’t want to make any promises, but I’ll sincerely try to revive this blog on my end. With Bette Jane’s inspiration and feeling generally disconnected from the world/old friends/family, this is my feeble attempt.

Because it’s been roughly one and a half years since my last post (ugh, cringe), here’s a little update on what’s happened since:

  • I’m living in Fort Worth, Texas. I never thought I’d call anywhere other than Washington my home, (especially a place nicknamed Cowtown) but it happened. I miss my family and friends dearly, but I am loving this new adventure.
  • I’m finishing up my first year of medical school! That’s what brought me to Texas in the first place. I’ve learned so much in the last year, but right now, my brain is mush and I desperately need summer break to come.
  • Mike and I are engaged and will be married in a couple months! Wowza.

Needless to say, life has been keeping me busy. But it hasn’t stopped me from my love of food and cooking. Moving to a new part of the country allows me to explore different foods and restaurants (queso, BBQ, crawfish = YES), and makes me appreciate the food in Seattle. Seriously Fort Worth, where are all the drive-thru coffee stands and teriyaki restaurants?

IMG_4410

Honestly, I don’t bake sweets as much anymore. But I make home-cooked meals as much as possible, experimenting, learning, and building my repertoire– with my sous chef, Mike, helping me along the way.

My goal is to be continuously curious. “What’s that? Delicious sourdough bread? I can make that! Pork chops are on sale this week? Let me come up with something.” My mother is also driven by curiosity, always wanting to learn more and more recipes and perfecting her own. She has great pride in the food she makes and her love for her family clearly shines through cooking. I want to be her– I am her!

And with that, I have chicken noodle soup. I’ll be honest, I didn’t make this with the intent of blogging about it. The picture above is today’s lunch, leftover from last night’s dinner, made from leftover roasted chicken from Tuesday’s dinner. But it’s a damn good soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

Serves 6-8; Time: 6 hours because I made my own stock, 2 hours with store-bought stock

Ingredients:

  • ~6 cups of chicken stock (I made my own with leftover bones from a roasted chicken)
  • Meat from 1/2 roasted chicken, about 2 cups, chopped into chunks (I highly recommend making this chicken sometime)
  • 1/2 white onion, diced
  • 5-7 carrots, peeled and diced into 1/2-inch chunks
  • 1 head of broccoli, cut into bite sized florets
  • a bunch of fresh thyme, chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder
  • half pound of pasta, boiled (I used penne because that was in my pantry. Egg noodle would probably be best.)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. If you’re going to make your own stock:
    1. Debone the roasted chicken.
    2. Place chicken bones in a large pot with about ~6 cups of water.
    3. Add some salt.
    4. Simmer on low for 3-4 hours.
    5. Remove the bones, continue to step 2.
  2. In a large pot, bring to a boil the chicken stock, chicken, carrots, onions, thyme, garlic powder, and salt and pepper.
  3. Turn down the heat to low and let the soup simmer for 1.5 -2 hours. Taste along the way and add more thyme, salt, and pepper as needed.
  4. Boil your pasta and set aside.
  5. When the soup is almost done, add the broccoli florets, cook for 3-5 minutes.
  6. Add pasta to a bowl, and ladle the chicken soup over.
  7. Top with freshly ground black pepper, serve with bread or a grilled cheese sandwich.

 

Love, Krisla

Leave a Reply

